Things to see and to do

Things to see and do in and around Jarabacoa

Even we were amazed at the countless sights and natural wonders that can be discovered here near us ... And whenever you think you've seen everything, there is something new again. We have compiled a long list, we cannot guarantee completeness, but we promise that we will keep adding new destinations and attractions for you.

Coffee roastery 

Carr Belarminio Ramirez, Jarabacoa 

The roastery Cafe de Monte Alto offers a comprehensive tour of its facilities and organic coffee production. Experience the entire processing process of the bean from the tree to the coffee cup. 

The tour ends with a tasting of freshly made coffees in the factory cafe. The coffee Cafe de Monte Alto has been made by a local family since the 1940s. 

It is grown in the high mountains of the Cibao Valley. The Cafe de Monte Alto roastery is just a few minutes outside of Jarabacoa city center. 

Provincial capital La Vega

La Vega is known for the largest, oldest and most colorful carnival celebrations in the country, but also for two popular summit tours in the regions of Jarabacoa and Constanza. The city was the first gold rush settlement, it emerged in the time of Columbus.  

El Mogote, Jarabacoa 

Getting there is a bit difficult, for a little over 20 km you need just under 1 hour, not on foot, but actually by car. 

The climb to the summit of El Mogote, a mountain very close to Jarabacoa, is strenuous, but worth it. The three-hour hike to the 1163 m high mountain first leads steeply uphill through dense pine forests and lush vegetation, then it continues on a steep, rocky path to the summit. On the way you pass coffee trees and bushes with berries before you reach the mountain warden's hut at the summit. When you have climbed the steps of the observation tower, all efforts and exertions are forgotten: there is an incomparably beautiful view of the green valleys and mountains from Jarabacoa to Constanza. You can stay here overnight and then watch the sunrise in the morning.

Cathedrale la Inmaculada Concepciòn

Calle Don Antonio Guzmán, La Vega 

This modern Roman Catholic church took 15 years to build and was completed in 1992. The cathedral is one of the few in the world in which Christ is already risen and not depicted dying on the cross. This modern Roman Catholic church with its impressive design in gray stone towers over the main square of La Vega and Parque Duarte. The outer walls are kept gray, which is symbolic of the limited ability of people to reflect divine enlightenment. Look out for the 5-meter statue above the altar. The cathedral is one of the largest in the Dominican Republic and can accommodate over 1,000 people.

La Cortina

Road between Jarabacoa and Manabao

When you see the waterfalls falling from the mountain slopes to the left of the road, you know: you have reached the freshwater pool La Cortina. Across the street you will find the pool and a restaurant. 

La Vega Vieja

Carr. Prof. Juan Bosch

Discover the archaeological site of the settlement founded by Christopher Columbus in 1494 near Santo Cerro. In this area, which has now been declared a national park, archaeologists are still investigating the foundations of this ancient city, which experienced its golden age between 1505 and 1510. Near Santo Cerro, before the exit to La Vega, you turn to the archaeological remains of the city founded by Christopher Columbus in 1494. In search of gold, Columbus settled with Spanish settlers here in the Cibao Valley, on the banks of the Rio Verde. Archaeologists are still researching the foundations of the old city, which have been protected as a national park since 1976, including the Nuestra Senora de la Concepcion fort built in 1494, which flourished between 1505 and 1510. After touring the ruins, make time to visit the on-site museum, which features numerous finds from the times of the Taino Indians and Spanish settlers. 

Jarabacoa Flower Festival

Jarabacoa town center 

Every year in June, visitors and locals meet for the weekend of the Flower Festival, which takes place in the park across from Avenida La Confluencia. Exotic and rare flowers, traditional food and drinks, arts and crafts, tropical plants and much more can be found in the province of La Vega. 

BOCA DE LOS RÍOS 

Between Jarabacoa and Constanza on the Ent la Guanita

Two minutes from the entrance of the Armando Bermudez National Park in the picturesque mountain village of Manabao is the so-called river waterpool Boca de los Rios. There is a very nice amusement park with lots of banks and tables inviting for a picnic. The excursion will end with a refreshing swim in the calm waters of the Yaque del Rio.

Santo Cerro

Direction La Vega, Calle principial 

Certainly, one of the most important holy places in the country can be found in the north of Santo Cerro, east of La Vega. It is the Santuario Nuestra Senora de las Mercedes church, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary. Legend has it that Christopher Columbus erected a cross on a hill next to today's church in the fight against the native Taino. During an attack by the Taino, the Merciful Mother of God, patron saint of the Dominican Republic, appeared to them and drove them away. 

Every year on September 24th the Dominicans make a pilgrimage to Santo Cerro from everywhere and pay homage to their patron saint. 

On the back of the church there is an open terrace, there you come to a staircase, go down the stairs to the 14 m high cross that watches over the beautiful Cibao valley and enjoy the wonderful panoramic view.

El Arroyazo

Between La Vega and Constanza

Immediately after the exit to the natural science reserve Ebano Verde you will find a hiking trail to the emerald green waters of El Arroyazo, a swimming area surrounded by dense forest and rocks. A wonderful natural place that should be avoided on weekends, because there is a lot of activity when families look for refreshment in the cool waters of the Rio Camu. Before jumping into the water, remember that the water is ice cold. 

La Ciénaga

It is one of the most beautiful villages on the Yaque del Norte river. From here you can set off to the summit of Pico Duarte. Experience a day in this typical mountain village, enjoy the wonderfully green landscape, the country life and the colorful wooden houses scattered all over the place.

José del Carmen Ramírez Nationalpark 

Just like the adjacent Armando-Bermedez National Park, which is even less explored, this is one of the first national parks and protected areas in the DR. It spans three provinces covering an area of 764 square kilometers and provides an alternative entry point to the Pico Duarte.

LA CONFLUENCIA

Check out this waterfront park just ten minutes from downtown Jarabacoa, where two of the area's rivers merge, creating mini-pools amid the rocks.

Manabao

One of two “gates” to Pico Duarte, Manabao - about 27 kilometers south of Jarabacoa - offers breathtaking views. Roads, in the background distant peaks, meander along vegetable fields, pine forests, pastures and sometimes along the river Rio Yaque del Norte. Stop at the roadside and hike down to the riverside for a swim, surrounded by nature and far from the stresses of everyday life. 

Akasha Spa

You can also really relax here in Jarabacoa, there is a wonderful wellness oasis that not only offers a sauna and swimming pool, but also various massages and beauty treatments. A unique facility that you never want to leave. Talk to us, we will organize an appointment for you.

Between La Vega and Constanza

Immediately after the exit to the natural science reserve Ebano Verde you will find a hiking trail to the emerald green waters of El Arroyazo, a swimming area surrounded by dense forest and rocks. A wonderful natural place that should be avoided on weekends, because there is a lot of activity when families look for refreshment in the cool waters of the Rio Camu. Before jumping into the water, remember that the water is ice cold. 

Salto de Baiguate

A perfect waterfall that fills a jade green pool with water. It can be easily reached via a good path with wooden steps. You will quickly reach the destination located in a ravine. The water falls from 25 m here, the pool has a shallow bank and then gets deeper and deeper. Of course, the locals also use this refreshing bath regularly. If you feel like going for it, you can book a canyoning excursion with an extreme sports provider and abseil down the 25 m. From Arabachor it takes about 20 minutes to reach this wonderful nature reserve.

Las Pirámides

In the icebox of the Dominican Republic, perhaps the entire Caribbean, deep in the Valle Nuevo National Park (La Nevera area)

there is a pyramid-shaped monument at an altitude of 2300 m. It was created in 1958 by Spanish artists from Constanza and San Jose de Ocoa. It pays homage to the completion of the road between the two places. There is also a museum that provides interesting information about the national park. For the tougher among you, there is also a campsite, no later than the morning will you find out how this place got its nickname.

And to not forget Jarabacoa itself – without question a capital of the Dominican Republic for extreme sports, especially the mountain ones. 

There are tons of really well organized tour operators who offer all kinds of extreme sports such as river rafting, mountain biking, canyoning, paragliding or even adventurous hiking tours.

Voucher

Give experiences

Here you can

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Questions?

Sehen und erleben

Sehenswürdigkeiten und Unternehmungen in und um Jarabacoa

Selbst wir waren erstaunt über die unzähligen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Naturwunder, die es hier in unserer Nähe zu entdecken gibt. Und immer wenn man denkt, man hätte nun alles gesehen, gibt es wieder etwas Neues. Wir haben eine lange Liste für Euch erstellt, Vollständigkeit können wir nicht garantieren, versprochen, wir werden diese Liste für Euch immer wieder neu ergänzen.

Kaffeerösterei 

Carr Belarminio Ramirez, Jarabacoa 

Die Rösterei Café de Monte Alto bietet eine umfassende Besichtigungstour ihrer Einrichtungen und der Biokaffee-Produktion. Erlebt den gesamten Verarbeitungsprozess der Bohne vom Baum bis zur Kaffeetasse. 

Die Tour endet mit der Verkostung frisch zubereiteter Kaffeesorten im Café der Fabrik.  Der Café de Monte Alto wird bereits seit den 1940er-Jahren von einer ortsansässigen Familie hergestellt. 

Er wird in den hohen Bergen des Cibao-Tals angebaut. Die Rösterei Café de Monte Alto liegt nur ein paar Minuten außerhalb des Stadtzentrums von Jarabacoa. 

Provinzhauptstadt La Vega

La Vega ist bekannt für die größten, ältesten und buntesten Karnevalsfeierlichkeiten des Landes, aber auch für zwei beliebte Gipfeltouren in den Regionen Jarabacoa und Constanza. Die Stadt war die erste Goldgräbersiedlung, sie entstand zu Zeiten von Kolumbus.  

El Mogote, Jarabacoa 

Schon die Anfahrt ist etwas schwierig, für etwas über 20 km benötigt ihr hier knapp 1 Stunde, nicht zu Fuß, sondern tatsächlich mit dem Auto. 

Der Aufstieg zum Gipfel des El Mogote, einem Berg ganz in der Nähe von Jarabacoa, ist zwar anstrengend, lohnt sich jedoch. Der dreistündige Marsch auf den 1163 m hohen Berg führt zunächst steil bergauf durch dichte Kiefernwälder und üppige Vegetation, dann geht es weiter auf einem steilen, felsigen Weg bis zum Gipfel. Unterwegs geht es vorbei an Kaffeebäumen und Büschen mit Beeren, bevor Sie die Hütte des Bergwarts am Gipfel erreichen. Wenn Sie die Stufen des Aussichtsturms erklommen haben, sind alle Mühen und Strapazen vergessen: Es bietet sich ein unvergleichbar schöner Blick auf die grünen Täler und Berge von Jarabacoa bis hin nach Constanza. Sie können hier übernachten und dann morgens den Sonnenaufgang erleben.

Cathedrale la Inmaculada Concepciòn

Calle Don Antonio Guzmán, La Vega 

Der Bau dieser modernen römisch-katholischen Kirche dauerte 15 Jahre und wurde 1992 fertiggestellt. Die Kathedrale gehört zu den wenigen auf der Welt, in denen Christus bereits auferstanden und nicht am Kreuz sterbend dargestellt wird. Diese moderne römisch-katholische Kirche mit ihrem beeindruckenden Design in grauem Stein thront über dem Hauptplatz von La Vega und dem Parque Duarte. Ihr Bau dauerte 15 Jahre und wurde 1992 fertiggestellt. Die Außenmauern sind grau gehalten, was sinnbildlich ist für die eingeschränkte Fähigkeit der Menschen, die göttliche Erleuchtung widerzuspiegeln. Die Kathedrale gehört zu den wenigen auf der Welt, in denen Christus bereits auferstanden und nicht am Kreuz sterbend dargestellt wird. Achten Sie auf die 5 m hohe Statue über dem Altar. Die Kathedrale ist eine der größten in der Dominikanischen Republik und bietet Platz für über 1 000 Gläubige.

La Cortina

Straße zwischen Jarabacoa und Manabao

Wenn Sie links von der Straße die von den Berghängen herabfallenden Wasserfälle sehen, dann wissen Sie: Sie haben den Süßwasserpool La Cortina erreicht. Auf der gegenüberliegenden Straßenseite finden Sie den Pool und ein Restaurant. 

La Vega Vieja

Carr. Prof. Juan Bosch

Entdecken Sie in der Nähe von Santo Cerro die Ausgrabungsstätte der 1494 von Christoph Kolumbus gegründete Siedlung. In diesem mittlerweile zum Nationalpark erklärten Gebiet untersuchen die Archäologen noch heute die Fundamente dieser alten Stadt, die zwischen 1505 und 1510 ihr goldenes Zeitalter erlebte. In der Nähe von Santo Cerro vor der Ausfahrt nach La Vega biegt man ab zu den archäologischen Überresten der von Christoph Kolumbus 1494 gegründeten Stadt. Auf der Suche nach Gold hatte sich Kolumbus hier im Cibao-Tal, am Ufer des Río Verde mit spanischen Siedlern niedergelassen. Archäologen erforschen auch heute noch die seit 1976 als Nationalpark unter Schutz stehenden Fundamente der alten Stadt, die einschließlich des 1494 erbauten Forts Nuestra Señora de la Concepción die zwischen 1505 und 1510 ihre Blütezeit erlebte. Nach einer Besichtigung der Ruinen sollten Sie sich Zeit für das Museum vor Ort nehmen, in dem zahlreiche Funde aus der Zeit der Taíno-Indianer und der spanischen Siedler zu sehen sind. 

Blumenfestival in Jarabacoa

Stadtmitte Jarabacoa 

Jedes Jahr im Juni treffen sich Besucher und Ortsansässige am Wochenende des Blumenfestivals, das im Park gegenüber der Avenida La Confluencia stattfindet. Exotische und seltene Blumen, traditionelles Essen und Getränke, Kunst und Kunsthandwerk, tropische Pflanzen und vieles mehr finden Besucher in der Provinz La Vega. 

BOCA DE LOS RÍOS 

Zwischen Jarabacoa und Constanza an der Ent la Guanita

2 Minuten vom Eingang des Nationalparks Armando Bermúdez liegt im malerischen Bergdorf Manabao der so genannte Fluss-Wasser-Pool Boca de los Ríos. Es handelt sich um einen sehr schönen Freizeitpark hier stehen für Euch Bänke und Tische bereit, bringt Euch etwas zum Essen und Trinken mit und der Ausflug wird, nach einem erfrischenden Bad im ruhigen Gewässern des Yaque del Rio.

Santo Cerro

Richtung La Vega, Calle principial 

Sicherlich eine der wichtigsten heiligen Stätten des Landes findet man in Santo Cerro Nord östlich von La Vega gelegen. Es ist die Kirche Santuario Nuestra Señora de las Mercedes, gewidmet der barmherzigen Jungfrau Maria. Hier soll der Legende nach Christopher Columbus im Kampf gegen die einheimischen Taino ein Kreuz auf einem Hügel neben der heutigen Kirche errichtet haben. Während eines Angriffs der Taino erschien ihnen die barmherzige Mutter Gottes, Schutzheilige der Dominikanischen Republik und vertrieb sie. 

Jedes Jahr am 24. September pilgern die Dominikaner von überall nach Santos Cerro und erweisen ihrer Schutzheiligen die Ehre. 

Auf der Rückseite der Kirche befindet sich eine offene Terrasse, dort gelangen Sie an eine Treppe, steigen Sie die Stufen hinab zu dem 14 m hohen Kreuz, welches über das wunderschöne Cibao-Tal wacht und genießen Sie den herrlichen Panorama Blick.

El Arroyazo

Zwischen La Vega Constanza

Gleich nach der Ausfahrt zum naturwissenschaftlichen Reservat Ébano Verde findet Ihr einen Wanderweg zu den smaragdgrünen Gewässern von El Arroyazo, einer von dichtem Wald und Felsen umgebenen Badestelle. Ein wunderschöner naturbelassener Ort, den man am Wochenende meiden sollte, denn es herrscht reges Treiben, wenn Familien in den kühlen Gewässern des Río Camú Erfrischung suchen. Bedenkt vor dem Sprung in die Fluten, das Wasser ist eiskalt. 

La Ciénaga

Es ist eines der schönsten Dörfer am Fluss Yaque del Norte. Von hier aus kann man zum Gipfel des Pico Duarte aufbrechen. Erleben Sie einen Tag in diesem typischen Bergdorf, genießen Sie die herrlich grüne Landschaft, das Landleben und die überall verstreut liegenden bunten Holzhäuser.

José del Carmen Ramírez Nationalpark 

Genau wie der angrenzende Armando-Bermédez-Nationalpark, der noch weniger erforscht ist, ist dies einer der ersten Nationalparks und Schutzgebiete der DR. Er erstreckt sich über drei Provinzen mit einer Fläche von 764 Quadratkilometern und bietet einen alternativen Einstiegspunkt zum Pico Duarte.

LA CONFLUENCIA

Besuchen Sie diesen Park am Wasser, nur zehn Minuten von der Innenstadt von Jarabacoa entfernt, wo zwei der Flüsse der Gegend verschmelzen und Minipools inmitten der Felsen schaffen.

Manabao

Eines von zwei „Toren“ zum Pico Duarte, Manabao – etwa 27 Kilometer südlich von Jarabacoa – bietet atemberaubende Ausblicke. Straßen, im Hintergrund ferne Gipfel , schlängeln sich entlang an Gemüsefeldern, Pinienwäldern , Viehweiden und manchmal entlang des Flusses Rio Yaque del Norte. Stoppt  am Straßenrand und wandert hinunter zum Flussufer, um zu schwimmen, umgeben von der Natur und weit weg vom Stress des Alltags. 

Akasha Spa

Auch richtig entspannen kann man hier in Jarabacoa, es gibt eine wunderschöne Wellnessoase, die nicht nur Sauna und Swimmingpool bietet, sondern auch verschiedene Massagen und Beautyanwendungen. Eine einmalige Anlage, die man gar nicht mehr verlassen will. Sprecht uns an, wir organisieren einen Termin für Euch.

Zwischen La Vega Constanza

Gleich nach der Ausfahrt zum naturwissenschaftlichen Reservat Ébano Verde findet Ihr einen Wanderweg zu den smaragdgrünen Gewässern von El Arroyazo, einer von dichtem Wald und Felsen umgebenen Badestelle. Ein wunderschöner naturbelassener Ort, den man am Wochenende meiden sollte, denn es herrscht reges Treiben, wenn Familien in den kühlen Gewässern des Río Camú Erfrischung suchen. Bedenkt vor dem Sprung in die Fluten, das Wasser ist eiskalt. 

Salto de Baiguate

Ein perfekter Wasserfall, der einen jadegrünen Pool mit Wasser füllt. Er ist bequem über einen guten Weg mit hölzernen Stufen zu erreichen. Schnell erreicht Ihr das in einer Schlucht gelegene Ziel. Das Wasser stürzt hier 25 m in die Tiefe, der Pool hat ein flaches Ufer und wird dann immer tiefer. Natürlich nutzen auch die Einheimischen dieses erfrischende Bad regelmäßig. Wer Lust hat, kann bei einem Extremsportanbieter einen Canyoning-Ausflug buchen und sich die 25 m abseilen. Von Arabachor aus benötigt man circa 20 Minuten um dieses wundervolle Naturschutzgebiet zu erreichen.

Las Pirámides

Im Eisschrank des Dominikanischen Republik, vielleicht der gesamten Karibik, tief im Nationalpark Valle Nuevo (Gebiet La Nevera)

steht ein pyramidenförmiges Denkmal auf 2300 m Höhe. Es wurde im Jahr 1958 von spanischen Künstlern aus Constanza und San José de Ocoa. Es huldigt der Fertigstellung der Straße zwischen den beiden Orten. Auch gibt es dort ein Museum, das interessante Informationen zum Nationalpark liefert. Für die härteren unter Euch, es gibt auch einen Campingplatz, spätestens am Morgen Weiß man wie dieser Ort zu seinem Spitznamen kommt.

Die Hauptstadt in der Dominikanischen Republik für extremen Sport, besonders natürlich in den Bergen, ist ohne Frage Jarabacoa. 

Es gibt eine Unmenge an wirklich gut organisierten Veranstaltern, die alle möglichen Extremsportarten anbieten wie zum Beispiel Riverrafting, Mountainbiking, Canyoning, Paragliding oder auch abenteuerliche Wandertouren

Wertgutschein

Schenken Sie Erlebnisse

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Fragen?